Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#44771 - 2003-09-04 01:14 PM Installing Windows Service packs wiht user that don't have admin-rights
zigi Offline
Fresh Scripter

hello,

i'm really new to kix.

my question is:
is it possible to install with kix different service packs for win2k or office automatically on clients where the useraccounts don't have admin-rights?

if it's possible, can you please tell my how to do it.

i would be very greatful
thanks for your time

zigi

#44772 - 2003-09-04 01:24 PM Re: Installing Windows Service packs wiht user that don't have admin-rights
Lonkero Administrator Offline
KiX Master Guru

Loc: OK
ok...
can I ask, are you wanting to do this via logonscript or adminscript?

the difference is that with logonscript you most likely need to expose admin password.
and in worst case, distrib even a domain-admin account.
in admin script the script is ran by your rights by you and it uses your rights when connects to the clients and executes what ever command you wish.
like, timed SP install.

admin script might be little harder to come up with but there is always that question about security...

download KiXnet

#44773 - 2003-09-04 01:47 PM Re: Installing Windows Service packs wiht user that don't have admin-rights
zigi Offline
Fresh Scripter

thank you for your quick answer.

with logonscript means, that our users would see or had to know the admin-password, right?
that's what we want to avoid.

can you tell me a little bit more what the differences are between the two options admin- and logonscript?

my imagination was, that we could put a kix script into our existing logonscripts. with that option we would be secure that every client gets the skript for execution.

#44774 - 2003-09-04 01:54 PM Re: Installing Windows Service packs wiht user that don't have admin-rights
Chris S. Offline
MM club member

Loc: Earth
During the recent Welchia/Nachi attack I rolled out the hotfixes and in some cases Windows 2000 SP4 through the login script.