Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#211506 - 2016-05-16 01:31 PM Kixtart default script
mohammed Offline
Fresh Scripter

Loc: London
Hi all,

I am new to Kixtart so apologies if my question has been asked before. At my worksplace, we are currently running a version of Kixtart which is several years old. In the logon script field for users in active directory, users have Kix32.exe which points to the default script kixtart.kix and works fine. However, in a test environment I have installed the latest version of Kix (2010 4.66) and I cannot seem to get it to work without entering both kix32.exe and kixtart.kix in the logon script field. Is there a way of making Kix look for the default script in the new version? Any information will be useful.

Many thanks

Mo

#211507 - 2016-05-16 03:34 PM Re: Kixtart default script [Re: mohammed]
ShaneEP Moderator Offline
MM club member

Loc: Tulsa, OK
I believe this is a known issue since around version 4.6. Someone correct me if I'm wrong. The solution is to simply put the path of the script as well, which as you've noticed, works fine.

I know it adds a level of work to change everyone's login script field in AD. But it's not as hard as you might think, since I think you can select more than one user at a time and edit the field for all at once.

See the following post where the same issue was discussed.

http://www.kixtart.org/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Board=1&Number=210505

Edited by ShaneEP (2016-05-19 03:06 PM)

#211508 - 2016-05-16 05:46 PM Re: Kixtart default script [Re: ShaneEP]
mohammed Offline
Fresh Scripter

I have over a thousand users to update then lol that should be fun! Thank you for clearing that up! I presume this bug will be fixed in future builds which means that the logon script field will have to be amended back to kix32.exe again for over a thousand users?
#211509 - 2016-05-16 06:00 PM Re: Kixtart default script [Re: mohammed]
Glenn Barnas Administrator Offline
KiX Supporter

Loc: New Jersey