Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#207521 - 2013-07-26 11:09 PM Upgraded to latest version and login scripts stop working
klingk Offline
Just in Town

I'm really at a loss on this.... I've been using Kix since 2000 and it's been a great tool to have around.

I'm phasing out an old DC and need to make some changes to printer maps to the new server, which I have always done with Kix, great way to set a default printer on a workstation when you have users that wander around and just want to print to the printer that is closest to them... anyway....

The odd thing is that it's just inconsistent with the new version....

I have simplified the script down to a print and sleep to eliminate any issues with the script and that makes no difference, it seems that kix isn't being called sometimes, usually most of the time.

I can run the script if I mount the netlogin directory and run it manually.

Old version is "KiXtart 95 3.63" - date on file is some time in 2000..... old.
New version is "KiXtart 2010 4.63".

Clients are Windows XP and Windows 7.

Server is 2008 R2.

One variable I haven't been able to rule out is that almost all logins are being serviced by a 2003 server rather than the "main" DC as indicated by %logonserver% and I don't know if that is the variable that is making it inconsistent.

I have confirmed that replication is working so both DCs are looking at the same executable and script, and actually checked the files to make sure the replication directories are updating when I've tested it.

I had read someplace ( though the documentation doesn't indicate this ) that some version changed the kixtart.kix as the default script name.

I changed the script entry on every user account to "kix32.exe kixtart.kix" and it still doesn't work consistently with the new version.

Any other information that would be helpful ?

Any suggestions ?

Thanks !

#207522 - 2013-07-26 11:37 PM Re: Upgraded to latest version and login scripts stop working [Re: klingk]