Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#193091 - 2009-03-23 08:50 PM Uninstalling Limewire - First Script
erikpd Offline
Fresh Scripter

Loc: Washington, DC
Hello, I am completely new to scripting, however I am trying to write uninstall scripts to run out of Desktop Authority for my workplace. After doing as much reading as I could I took a crack at one and would like to know if I did correctly even on the most remedial level. I used Kixtarter v4.10.0 to write it. I basically followed the initial prompts in Kixtarter and then coded what I thought I'd need. The script is below:

;*************************************************************************
; Script Name: Limewire Removal
; Author: Erik Dunbar
; Date: 3/23/2009
; Description:

;Script Options
$SO=SETOPTION("Explicit", "ON")
$SO=SETOPTION("NoMacrosInStrings", "ON")
$SO=SETOPTION("NoVarsInStrings", "ON")
BREAK ON

Shell "C:\Program Files\LimeWire\uninstall.exe"
$=SetFocus ("LimeWire 5.1.2 Uninstall")
$=SendKeys (N)
$=SendKeys (U)
$=SendKeys (F)

#193092 - 2009-03-23 09:08 PM Re: Uninstalling Limewire - First Script [Re: erikpd]
Glenn Barnas Administrator Offline
KiX Supporter

Loc: New Jersey
Welcome!

Seems like it will work OK.. Couple of comments that will make future scripting a tad smoother..

"SendKeys" is a function. There should not be a space between the function name and the "(". Kix is forgiving, but other languages aren't, so it's better to be a bit more strict when you're learning. Compare the SendKeys and SETOPTION lines.

"C:\Program Files" should (like many other system parameters) be referred to by the appropriate system variable - "%PROGRAMFILES%\path..." - this will work anywhere..

My personal preference - use single quotes in Kix - makes it easier to embed double quotes into Shell commands, since DOS commands require double quotes.

Be consistent in how you specific commands / functions..
thiscommand / thatfunction
ThisCommand / ThatFunction
THISCOMMAND / THATFUNCTION