Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#184285 - 2007-12-28 12:21 AM Shell or RUN ... Execute a MSi File
x2k Offline
Lurker

Hi All,

Im new, so i might want to introduce myself, im a helpdesk/network support engineer analyst, just manage a few servers and use kix32 script, which i find an amazing tool...

I got a simple enquiry, basically, i have the following command as shown below.

IF INGROUP("br_CTN") > 0
? "Running branch variations..."

USE I: "\\Server07159\common"
RUN "\\Server07159\OFCSCAN\AUTOPCC.EXE"
RUN "msiexec /i \\Server07159\common\isdept\jre.msi /quiet /lew+ \\Server07159\common\logs\logi.log"

EndIF

Basically, i have some simple windows file servers out there, which has a shared drive called common, everyone has full permission to it.

Usually in the end of a script, for instance in a Local Brach such as where i am, the scripts works fine when the statement has nothign to do with a group, so pretty much execute everytime someone logs on to this domain.

This script however, doesn't want to work for me, it hates me, I've tried shell but doesn't seem to work as well, is there something within this statement im missing that could be helpful, JRE.msi is a JAva Installation file, i need to send out this update to all computers.

Any help be great !!! thanks in advance!

#184288 - 2007-12-28 12:50 AM Re: Shell or RUN ... Execute a MSi File [Re: x2k]
Mart Moderator Offline
KiX Supporter

Loc: The Netherlands
If I understand the problem correct it does run if it is not inside a If InGroup(bla) statement.

What happens if you clear the token cache?
This can be done with the /f parameter or by deleting the registry key below.

Quote:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\KiXtart\TokenCache

- Chuck Norris once sold ebay to ebay on ebay.

#184290 - 2007-12-28 01:20 AM Re: Shell or RUN ... Execute a MSi File [Re: Mart]
Glenn Barnas Administrator Offline
KiX Supporter

Loc: New Jersey