Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#175725 - 2007-04-26 06:59 PM replacing items in a text file, the joy of writeline.
likedark Offline
Fresh Scripter

I have been kicking around the following code for a few days. The higher ups where I work would like a simple log to track some anti-virus info. I did a search and while I found some things here that were helpful, they wanted to use a specific format.

My problem is I want to be able to only add new items to the log and overwrite existing lines for pre-existing computers. I have tried writeline and readline but cannot seem to get anything to work in concert with the other. Either the Writelog functions works with everything else turned off or the writeline portion works but with everything else remmed out (meaning the open, if..then, while...loop statements, EVERYTHING).

It seems pretty simple to do, loop through each line for variable "x", if you find it, write this, if not, then write this. But then I am not a programmer by nature, so please bear with me.

Oh, I am using Kix 4.53.0.0, all our computer are XP with latest service packs, etc, etc.

Anyone have suggestions?

Code:
debug off
; declare variables for McAfee items and fill in the values with Registry locations.
     $virusProd=ReadValue("HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Network Associates\ePolicy Orchestrator\Application Plugins\VIRUSCAN8600", "Product Name")
     $virusver=ReadValue("HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Network Associates\ePolicy Orchestrator\Application Plugins\VIRUSCAN8600", "Version")
     $virusdat=ReadValue("HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Network Associates\ePolicy Orchestrator\Application Plugins\VIRUSCAN8600", "DATVersion")
     $virusdate=ReadValue("HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Network Associates\ePolicy Orchestrator\Application Plugins\VIRUSCAN8600", "DATDate")
     $virusHotFix=ReadValue("HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Network Associates\ePolicy Orchestrator\Application Plugins\VIRUSCAN8600", "HotFixVersions")