Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#172954 - 2007-01-18 06:47 PM Compiling a Function and calling it from another script
Acidean Offline
Lurker

Hiya guys (and girls)

Hope this hasn't been posted before, looked and couldn't find anything.

I'm not a developer by trade, but play around with dev as a hoby... and just love to code.

I remember from the times that I did some Turbo Pascal dev that one can compile a Function to be an independent file, and then call it from any other program/script to run and return specific values.

I have searched the internet for an explenation of how this works, but all the functions that I find are included in the same script that it is called from.

Your view and assistance on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanx

#172955 - 2007-01-18 07:09 PM Re: Compiling a Function and calling it from another script [Re: Acidean]
Shawn Administrator Offline
Administrator

Hi and welcome. The steps are:

1) Create your separate function file and place your function in it. For example, lets say you call it "myfunctions.kix".

2) In your "main" script, place this at the top:

CALL "myfunctions.kix"

3) Then just call your function from your main script.

#172956 - 2007-01-18 07:09 PM Re: Compiling a Function and calling it from another script [Re: Acidean]
Les Offline
KiX Master

Loc: fortfrances.on.ca
KiX is an interpreter and as such there is no "compiling". Functions are defined into well... UDFs, and these UDFs may be placed into separate files and either CALLed or INCLUDEd. Look up those two commands in the manual to gain an understanding of their difference.

#172958 - 2007-01-18 08:57 PM Re: Compiling a Function and calling it from another script [Re: Acidean]
Glenn Barnas Administrator Offline
KiX Supporter

Loc: New Jersey