Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#172481 - 2007-01-07 01:52 PM Identifying a drive mapping, writing to then readfing from file
Willmaykett Offline
Fresh Scripter

Hi all,

Absolute newbie to Kixtart, with no previous scripting experience, so please be kind to me

I want to use Kix to perform the following functions:

1. Find out the server and full share name of a mapped drive letter, eg P:. This share can include spaces, & etc.

2. If the drive is not mapped, write out to an appended error file. If the drive exists, write out the unc path to a file. Should only need to be a single line.

3. I then need to be able to read the line of the file, so that I can use it to map a new drive letter against the share.

Not sure about how to attack part 1, for part 2 and 3 I think I need a combination of writeline, readline and obviously use commands. I am looking for assistance for a nice easy way of doing it, so I can start to understand and modify as I go.

Thanks for the anticipated help.
Willy

#172482 - 2007-01-07 03:09 PM Re: Identifying a drive mapping, writing to then readfing from file [Re: Willmaykett]
Lonkero Administrator Offline
KiX Master Guru

Loc: OK
hmm...
why you want to write to file?

download KiXnet

#172483 - 2007-01-07 04:12 PM Re: Identifying a drive mapping, writing to then readfing from file [Re: Lonkero]
KiX Master Guru

please provide some info about the actual write process and why you need it.
simply writing a textfile might not be the best way if you wanna use the info with some other script or program.
if you want the file for logging purposes only, then it's another deal.

download KiXnet

#172484 - 2007-01-07 04:27 PM Re: Identifying a drive mapping, writing to then readfing from file [Re: Lonkero]
Les Offline
KiX Master

Loc: fortfrances.on.ca