Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#149466 - 2005-10-07 04:13 PM problem with %USERPROFILE%
paulathhl Offline
Lurker

Hi,

I'm new to KIXTART.
I'm trying to use a short kixtart script to set the users default printer in a metaframe farm with multiple servers and roaning profiles on server applic2.
The script below only works when I replace %USERPROFILE% with the actual domain username (testcitrix). log in as this user while a run the script of course...
Anybody knows the reason?

use u: \\applic2\profiles
IF NOT EXIST ("u:\%USERPROFILE%\DFPrint.ini")
copy "c:\winnt\Application Compatibility Scripts\DFPrint\DFPrint.ini" "u:\%USERPROFILE%\DFPrint.ini" /s/h
ENDIF

shell "%systemroot%\Application Compatibility Scripts\DFPrint\SetDefaultPrinter.exe"
$RegDFPrint = Readvalue("HKEY_Current_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows","Device")
$Result = writeprofilestring("u:\%USERPROFILE%\DFPrint.ini","DFPrint" ,"DFPrint", $RegDFPrint)
use u: /del

#149467 - 2005-10-07 04:23 PM Re: problem with %USERPROFILE%
Les Offline
KiX Master

Loc: fortfrances.on.ca
Does not %USERPROFILE% already include the drive letter?

#149468 - 2005-10-07 04:36 PM Re: problem with %USERPROFILE%
maciep Offline
Korg Regular

Loc: Pittsburgh
yeah, it sounds like he needs @userid or %username%
#149469 - 2005-10-07 04:51 PM Re: problem with %USERPROFILE%
Les Offline
KiX Master

Better still would be to pull it from the reg.

#149470 - 2005-10-07 07:04 PM Re: problem with %USERPROFILE%
StarwarsKid Offline
Seasoned Scripter

Loc: Oregon, USA
Doing an ECHO %USERPROFILE% from a dos prompt returns the local path for the profile on my computer. I.E. C:\Documents and Settings\mranderson

You'll need to use another variable instead of %userprofile% (like maciep's suggested @userid) to accomplish your task.

BTW, This might be a helpful resource for you. Environment Variables - Windows 2000/XP

#149471 - 2005-10-10 11:55 AM Re: problem with %USERPROFILE%
paulathhl Offline
Lurker