Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#116456 - 2004-03-19 07:57 PM Tips to stay organized when coding?
mrwumpus Offline
Fresh Scripter

Loc: California, USA
I'm a noob at KiX (all programming really) but a veteran at being disorganized. I start KiX projects that I can hardly read the next day. Does anyone have tips or links to help me organize a project beforehand and stay organized during?

I know about properly labeling variables and functions, but does anyone actually map out their program beforehand, a script for their script if you will? I know this is probably Computer Science 101 but I was an English major!

#116457 - 2004-03-19 08:05 PM Re: Tips to stay organized when coding?
Radimus Moderator Offline

Loc: Tampa, FL
as an arts major, you should stick to asking if someone wants to supersize their meal.

OK... a few things

when I write an IF statement, I'll write the IF and then ENDIF, and then fill the parameters in

the same goes for Function/endfunction, for next, do while etc...

I will do similar things for quotes:' ' or " " and then fill it in.

UDFs should go to the end of the script, to get them out of the way.

Make sure to use lots of comments to describe the logical steps in your code

#116458 - 2004-03-19 09:11 PM Re: Tips to stay organized when coding?
Bryce Offline
KiX Supporter

Loc: Houston TX
Quote:

I'm a noob at KiX (all programming really) but a veteran at being disorganized. I start KiX projects that I can hardly read the next day. Does anyone have tips or links to help me organize a project beforehand and stay organized during?

I know about properly labeling variables and functions, but does anyone actually map out their program beforehand, a script for their script if you will? I know this is probably Computer Science 101 but I was an English major!