BillBarnard
(Starting to like KiXtart)
2007-08-08 12:03 PM
Display Command not working

I haven't used the Display command for ages now, but in KiXtart V4.53, I find it does nothing.

break on

$Fname = "Test.txt"
Display $fname
Display "Test.txt"
; No output at all

Is this correct?

Regards,

Bill


Witto
(MM club member)
2007-08-08 01:10 PM
Re: Display Command not working

Display works fine in KiXtart 4.53
maybe complete the path to your text file
 Code:
Display "\\Server\Share\Deeper\Test.txt"


BillBarnard
(Starting to like KiXtart)
2007-08-08 01:59 PM
Re: Display Command not working

This doesn't work for me either.
Nor does specifying the path, i.e. D:\test.txt

I have just tried it in 10 old versions of KiXtart.

Prior to V4.50 the Display command works for me, but every version after and including V4.50 doesn't work.

What changed in V4.50 ?
I'm using the standard Command Prompt in Win XP Pro SP2

Cheers,

Bill


Witto
(MM club member)
2007-08-08 02:08 PM
Re: Display Command not working

Do you really see nothing on the screen or do you see a littlebit of garbage? Something like
 Code:
ÿ_T


BillBarnard
(Starting to like KiXtart)
2007-08-08 02:15 PM
Re: Display Command not working

Nope, not a sausage.

$ = Redirectoutput("fred.txt",1)

Actually sends output to fred.txt OK.
And if I do:-

$ = Redirectoutput("CON")

Then it now works to screen.

Strange eh?

Bill


Mart
(KiX Supporter)
2007-08-08 02:17 PM
Re: Display Command not working

This works just fine for me on 4.53 and 4.60 beta1.
Notice the sleep 5 at the end. If you leave it out the contents of d:\test.txt flashes on the screen really fast so you cannot read it.

 Code:
Break on

$fname = "d:\test.txt"
Display $fname

sleep 5


Mart
(KiX Supporter)
2007-08-08 02:19 PM
Re: Display Command not working

 Originally Posted By: BillBarnard
Nope, not a sausage.

$ = Redirectoutput("fred.txt",1)

Actually sends output to fred.txt OK.
And if I do:-

$ = Redirectoutput("CON")

Then it now works to screen.

Strange eh?

Bill


No not strange at all. First you tell kix to send all screen output to a file and then you want to display something in the console window so you need to tell kix that it should stop sending output to the file.


BillBarnard
(Starting to like KiXtart)
2007-08-08 02:35 PM
Re: Display Command not working

But it didn't work to screen before redirecting it to CON.

Even stranger - after testing on 2 PCs and not getting Display to work, and after redirecting to CON in a test script, it now works with other scripts that don't include the Redirectoutput("CON") command.
It must be me. Sorry folks. I never could get the hang of Wednesdays.

;-)

Bill


Witto
(MM club member)
2007-08-08 02:44 PM
Re: Display Command not working

I don't get your problem
What does this script show?
 Code:
Break ON
Display "%windir%" + "\win.ini"
Get $RC

Display displays files (ASCII or ANSI)
RedirectOutput() redirects script output
[Edit]
Ah, now I see
You first redirect the output, then you display something.
Yep, the displayed text is also redirected.
[/Edit]


BillBarnard
(Starting to like KiXtart)
2007-08-08 03:08 PM
Re: Display Command not working

Thanks, it all works fine now.
I tested different scripts on different PCs before posting, and I'm still puzzled as to why it now works.
Before running these scripts I was also running Outlook and Access 2003. Perhaps one of these Apps interferred with CON output? But it's working now & I'm still running these progs.


BillBarnard
(Starting to like KiXtart)
2007-08-08 05:22 PM
Re: Display Command not working

I've had one more go at this:-

If the file you want to display is quite large, i.e. the one I was testing was 44K then nothing happens.

With smaller files <32K ? it works, >32K ? it doesn't.

Bug?


Witto
(MM club member)
2007-08-08 05:37 PM
Re: Display Command not working

for kix32.exe v4.53
 Code:
Break On
Display "C:\WINDOWS\WINNT32.LOG"
@SCRIPTEXE ?
@KIX ?

Get $SO

does not show the content of the log file (427kB). I presume you are right. I would start calling it a "hidden feature".


BillBarnard
(Starting to like KiXtart)
2007-08-08 05:59 PM
Re: Display Command not working

I copied and pasted your script into Test2.kix and ran it:-

D:\>notepad test2.kix

D:\>kix32 test2.kix
KIX32.EXE
4.53

D:\>

Look no output.

I think early KiXtart scripting had limits on how large a file it could open, perhaps this is left over from the old days.

Cheers,

Bill


Witto
(MM club member)
2007-08-08 09:05 PM
Re: Display Command not working

Is there a board master who also thinks this belong to the Beta forum?

LonkeroAdministrator
(KiX Master Guru)
2007-08-08 09:21 PM
Re: Display Command not working

yes, confirmed as bug in 4.50+

BillBarnard
(Starting to like KiXtart)
2007-08-09 10:01 AM
Re: Display Command not working

Versions prior to V4.50 are OK.
So something happened in the V4.50 code for the Display command.


BillBarnard
(Starting to like KiXtart)
2007-08-09 10:03 AM
Re: Display Command not working

Also doesn't work in V4.60 Beta 1

LonkeroAdministrator
(KiX Master Guru)
2007-08-09 04:20 PM
Re: Display Command not working

yep, that's why it's in beta ;\)

Ruud van Velsen
(Hey THIS is FUN)
2007-08-13 10:30 AM
Re: Display Command not working

Hi guys, thanks for this report. This is indeed a bug (undoc'd feature...). I'll try to address it in the netxt build of 4.60. Kind regards, Ruud

Ruud van Velsen
(Hey THIS is FUN)
2007-08-13 10:56 AM
Re: Display Command not working

And just to close the loop: found and fixed (in the next build of 4.60). This build will hopefully be released later this week. Thanks again! Ruud

Witto
(MM club member)
2007-08-13 11:25 AM
Re: Display Command not working

Thanks for the quick reply. That is what makes KiXtart so great.

BillBarnard
(Starting to like KiXtart)
2007-08-14 04:33 PM
Re: Display Command not working

Thanks Ruud. Regards, Bill

LonkeroAdministrator
(KiX Master Guru)
2007-08-25 03:26 PM
Re: Display Command not working

could you guys take your testride with the new beta 2?

BillBarnard
(Starting to like KiXtart)
2007-08-26 12:24 AM
Re: Display Command not working

Will do next week - just got the download - Monday is a Bank Holiday in the UK.

Witto
(MM club member)
2007-08-26 03:27 PM
Re: Display Command not working

Looks good!!!
 Code:
C:\WINDOWS>dir iis6.log
 Volume in drive C has no label.
 Volume Serial Number is 5425-9E25

 Directory of C:\WINDOWS

15/08/2007  10:13         1.451.285 iis6.log
...

 Code:
BREAK ON
Display("C:\Windows\iis6.log")
Get $SO

I will not paste the result the script gave ;\) .


BillBarnard
(Starting to like KiXtart)
2007-08-31 05:00 PM
Re: Display Command not working

Have you noticed that if you minimise the Command Prompt window, the long file being displayed finishes so quickly before you can maximise it again.