Mart
(KiX Supporter)
2009-11-23 10:02 PM
Command line works but not from script

Guy's,

This has me puzzled for the last few hours and I just cannot see what is wrong.
I want to use finddupe.exe to find duplicate files in a bunch of folders.
I use the DirPlus UDF to get a list of of folders in a specific location. These folders can have spaces in the names so I need to preserve those to get correct results.
The script below gets me the correct command line results on the screen. I copied and pasted each $shellline in a command windows and all executed correctly. Running them from a script makes finddupe.exe not interpret the redirect to a file correct. It must be something with the quotes but I tried so many variations that I cannot see the correct one anymore.

 Code:
Break on

$rc = SetOption("WrapAtEOL", "On")

$folders = dirplus("d:\finddupe\test test\", "/ad")

For Each $folder in $folders
	$shellline = 'd:\finddupe\finddupe.exe ' + '"' + $folder + '\**" >"d:\finddupe\duplicates_' + $folder.name + '.txt"'
	? $shellline
	?
	Shell $shellline
Next


Glenn BarnasAdministrator
(KiX Supporter)
2009-11-24 12:01 AM
Re: Command line works but not from script

You can't redirect without invoking %COMSPEC% /c, you silly programmer! ;\)
 Code:
	$shellline = '%COMSPEC% /c d:\finddupe\finddupe.exe "' + $folder + '\**" >"d:\finddupe\duplicates_' + $folder.name + '.txt"'

G-


Mart
(KiX Supporter)
2009-11-24 12:22 AM
Re: Command line works but not from script

!##@%%#!%^%$$@#

I knew it was something stupid. That's what you get for looking at the code waaaaay to long. I knew about %compes% for redirecting output just did not notice the absence of it.

Thanks for the reminder Glenn, all works just fine now.


Glenn BarnasAdministrator
(KiX Supporter)
2009-11-24 02:45 PM
Re: Command line works but not from script

It sucks when you can't see the data array for all the bits, eh? ;\)

G-


Richard H.Administrator
(KiX Supporter)
2009-11-24 02:57 PM
Re: Command line works but not from script

"Elements", surely?

Mart
(KiX Supporter)
2016-09-12 12:13 PM
Re: Command line works but not from script

LOL \:o This one saved my day again. One would assume that this is something easy to remember but I guess memory starts shutting down when the 30's are over LOL

NTDOCAdministrator
(KiX Master)
2016-09-16 09:17 PM
Re: Command line works but not from script

Well if it's after 30's what about those near 60

Glenn BarnasAdministrator
(KiX Supporter)
2016-09-17 01:35 AM
Re: Command line works but not from script

Hey! Who you calling ol - er - um - (nevermind). \:D

LonkeroAdministrator
(KiX Master Guru)
2016-09-17 01:56 AM
Re: Command line works but not from script

Mart you silly boy

Björn
(Korg Regular)
2019-04-29 07:47 PM
Re: Command line works but not from script

Good too see that you fixed it ;).