LonkeroAdministrator
(KiX Master Guru)
2002-08-08 01:07 AM
off topic: does the BB-soft cut your spaces?

I've come along with the wicked way the bb is cutting your simple " ".
that is basic character in ascii table and if you put more of them than two or if you make a line including one it has a habbit to remove it.
how to overcome this?

if you really need this:
instead of pressing space, press alt+255
it is actually the same space character but it does fit to the basic ascii table and as being not fitting, it is not translated by bb-software as being a space.

if they will someday see this, you can also use the longer way (I'm writing kixtart {edit} and some other stuff {/edit} here but you wont see it on page, just on the source):
Kixtart (4.11) rules as the wkix does work as suspected by most of us!

[ 08. August 2002, 01:40: Message edited by: Lonkero ]


MightyR1
(MM club member)
2002-08-08 01:19 AM
Re: off topic: does the BB-soft cut your spaces?

Jooel,

nice trick, wanna teach me??

Another question about your SOFTLINK UDF. I can't get it to work on W2K... Here's my test:

code:
Break on ? ? ? ?
;
SoftLink("%userprofile%\desktop\my_notepad.lnk","c:\winnt\system32\notepad.exe")
;
Function SoftLink($_path,$_target,optional $_args,optional $_startd,optional $_icon)
;
$_programs=ReadValue("HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders","Programs")
$_name=$_path
$_temp=InStr($_name,"\")
;
While $_temp
$_name=SubStr($_name,$_temp+1,Len($_name)-$_temp)
$_temp=InStr($_name,"\")
Loop
;
$=AddProgramGroup("_X")
? @ERROR
;
$=AddProgramItem('"$_target" "$_args"',$_name,SubStr($_icon,1,InStr($_icon,",")-1),SubStr($_icon,InStr($_icon,",")+1,Len($_icon)-InStr($_icon,",")),$_startd,0,0,0)
? @ERROR
;
$=AddProgramItem('"$_target" "$_args"',$_name,SubStr($_icon,1,InStr($_icon,",")-1),SubStr($_icon,InStr($_icon,",")+1,Len($_icon)-InStr($_icon,",")),$_startd,0,1,0)
? @ERROR
;
$src="$_programs\_X\$_name"
$dest="$_path"
;
Copy $src $dest
? @ERROR
;
Del $src
? @ERROR
;
$=DelProgramGroup("_X")
? @ERROR
;
Get $x
;
EndFunction

it gives an output of
code:
0
0
0
2
2
0

changing src and dest to ='"xxx"' results in two times error 123

It has something to do with long file names, but I can't get my hands on it...
[Confused]


LonkeroAdministrator
(KiX Master Guru)
2002-08-08 01:29 AM
Re: off topic: does the BB-soft cut your spaces?

there is too much output.
only output there should be is one error or the result the udf outputs.
check that you have the lines written correctly.
if you can't get the udf with wordpad nicely get it with BBcodeparser.

anyway, there is something really wrong if there is more than one error.

anyway, I admit that I can be wrong in some situations and just that it actually is tested ONLY on w2k does not make it work on w2k.

please, if you find anything about it, post the stuff.
otherwise I'll check it tonight when I get to work (in 5 hours).


MightyR1
(MM club member)
2002-08-08 01:36 AM
Re: off topic: does the BB-soft cut your spaces?

Jooel,

I got rid of the function:

code:
Break on ? ? ? ?
$_path="%userprofile%\desktop\my_notepad.lnk"
$_target="c:\winnt\system32\notepad.exe"
$_args=""
$_startd=""
$_icon=""

;Function SoftLink($_path,$_target,optional $_args,optional $_startd,optional $_icon)
$_programs=ReadValue("HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders","Programs")
$_name=$_path
$_temp=InStr($_name,"\")
While $_temp
$_name=SubStr($_name,$_temp+1,Len($_name)-$_temp)
$_temp=InStr($_name,"\")
Loop
$a=AddProgramGroup("_X")
? @ERROR
$a=AddProgramItem('"$_target" "$_args"',$_name,SubStr($_icon,1,InStr($_icon,",")-1),SubStr($_icon,InStr($_icon,",")+1,Len($_icon)-InStr($_icon,",")),$_startd,0,0,0)
? @ERROR
$a=AddProgramItem('"$_target" "$_args"',$_name,SubStr($_icon,1,InStr($_icon,",")-1),SubStr($_icon,InStr($_icon,",")+1,Len($_icon)-InStr($_icon,",")),$_startd,0,1,0)
? @ERROR
$src="$_programs\_X\$_name"
$dest="$_path"
Copy $src $dest
? @ERROR
Del $src
? @ERROR
Get $x
$a=DelProgramGroup("_X")
? @ERROR
;EndFunction
Exit (0)

It still gives the errors [Mad]


LonkeroAdministrator
(KiX Master Guru)
2002-08-08 01:40 AM
Re: off topic: does the BB-soft cut your spaces?

ok, we will not find a way...
that means, we will make one. if you just wait until your next morning I got it ready for you...


MightyR1
(MM club member)
2002-08-08 01:43 AM
Re: off topic: does the BB-soft cut your spaces?

I've been looking and looking and tried to make a solution with kix. But didn't succeed. Will wait till tomorrow and go to sleep now.

Thnx in advance...


LonkeroAdministrator
(KiX Master Guru)
2002-08-08 01:51 AM
Re: off topic: does the BB-soft cut your spaces?

patrick, how you can go to bed when you know that I'm still up?
I'm even 60 minutes ahead of you and you are going to bed!

anyway, the problem can't be big as the udf itself is pretty simple.
can't give any resolution with this linux box but surely I'll get back to this.
I even turned notification on to remember what I promised p:


NTDOCAdministrator
(KiX Master)
2002-08-08 11:11 AM
Re: off topic: does the BB-soft cut your spaces?

Because your still young and full of Energy Lonkero.. Some of us just can't keep going all day and night [Eek!]

LonkeroAdministrator
(KiX Master Guru)
2002-08-08 02:30 PM
Re: off topic: does the BB-soft cut your spaces?

found the reason why failing.
also found out that kix uses allusers profile as default...
like, the current program group is set to all users instead of current users...


Les
(KiX Master)
2002-08-08 02:43 PM
Re: off topic: does the BB-soft cut your spaces?

Back to your original topic...
The board is html based, so that is why you cannot have two contiguous spaces.  The proper way to do it in html is to use  


LonkeroAdministrator
(KiX Master Guru)
2002-08-08 02:49 PM
Re: off topic: does the BB-soft cut your spaces?

testing html:
"   " -char 255 x 3
" " -char 32 x 3
"   " -character sequence:32+255+32


Les
(KiX Master)
2002-08-08 03:11 PM
Re: off topic: does the BB-soft cut your spaces?

testing

"   " -char 255 x 3
" " -char 32 x 3
"   " -character sequence:  x 3


LonkeroAdministrator
(KiX Master Guru)
2002-08-09 02:31 AM
Re: off topic: does the BB-soft cut your spaces?

les, I can't say you're wrong but I can say that I made a point.
you can always trick it with special character which are not included in the basic ascii table.
I've used 255 with many NT programs starting with simple:
net user my username /add
without 255 you wil be rejected by some tools.
and that's the point in this topic:
if you don't remember the actual html sequence for space, there is alternative.