2hotty
(Getting the hang of it)
2002-04-11 12:10 AM
just started

I recently just started investigating logon scripts. I created a simply logon script that would map a test users' profile to a printer when they logged onto the network. My primary domain server is running NT4 and i placed the script file in the location - Winnt\System32\Repl\Import\Scripts and in the user's profile i typed in the name of the script where it says ' Script name'. I cant understand why it doesn't work. Here is a copy of the script i designed. Cane anyone help me please as i am new to the game.

cls
color g/n
"Hello, " + @USERID
?

;=== Setting Variable ===

$NTLocalServer=""
$Printer1=""
$Printer2=""
$Printer3=""
$Printer4=""
$Printer5=""
$DefaultPrinter=""

;=== Set Variable ===
SELECT
case InGroup ("smithb")
$NTLocalServer = "\\ESSBASE_1"
$Printer1 = "\\HRTC\claser1"
$Printer2 = "\\HRTC\claser2"
$DefaultPrinter = "\\HRTC\claser1"

LonkeroAdministrator
(KiX Master Guru)
2002-04-11 12:30 AM
Re: just started

this script you have here does not seem to do almost anything but...

let's cut from the beginning.
does the script start at all?
if not, try connecting to servers netlogon share.
\\server_name\netlogon

if you see there the script, try running it by hand.
does it work that way?
then, if you put to user manager the script name you must include also kix32 in it.
and this is not allowed on win9x-clients.

here is something to bite.
tell us something more of your trials and we are doing what we can to help you out.

cheers,

2hotty
(Getting the hang of it)
2002-04-10 01:16 PM

till doesn't work. Do i have to have the kix files located somewhere on the user's machine and what format should i save the script file as

LonkeroAdministrator
(KiX Master Guru)
2002-04-10 01:31 PM

the format should be plain text. neither does the place where kix-files are located.
you will need to find a way to run it by hand.
if you can't run it manually it will not work as logon script either.