Potts2002
(Just in Town)
2010-02-03 06:29 PM
Utilising Computer name in Kixtart script

Hi I am new to Kixtart, only 1 installation under my belt!!! We are working with an applicaiton which requires a different login per workstation. Currently when users login they cannot login with their own user names simply the machine name which then sets a number of parameters. I am trying to work out a way of using the "machine name" or "IP address" of the login workstation to then call a batch file. Ideally we will end up with each user having their own login username which can be used on any workstation but the script will identify the machine by name or IP (all machines have static addresses) which will then set the required parameters. Any suggestions would be most welcome and thanks for your help in anticipation. Potts2002

Glenn BarnasAdministrator
(KiX Supporter)
2010-02-03 07:08 PM
Re: Utilising Computer name in Kixtart script

Welcome to KORG!

Per workstations logins are very unsecure.

A standard login script - per user - can identify the workstation via the @WKSTA macro. This can then be used in a lookup table (INI File) to load workstation-specific parameters.

You might want to look at the login script available for download from my web site, either to use or to gain ideas. The full user guide is available online in PDF format.

Glenn

Potts2002
(Just in Town)
2010-02-03 11:35 PM

Hi Glen
Thanks for the quick response.
When you say that the logins are unsecure in what way are they unsecure what are the risks?
Have you an example of the @WKSTA macro and how should the ini file be configured? Do these reside on the workstation or server?

Have you a link to the login script I cannot see it on your site although I am sure it is there!!!

Thanks once again.

Potts2002

(KiX Supporter)
2010-02-04 01:23 AM

The User Manual is here - you can find it under the Products / Admin Toolchest section on the Universal Login Script page.