ItEagle
(Fresh Scripter)
2006-12-06 02:20 PM
There is no script engine for file extension ".exe"

i am using KiXtart (KiX2010.453)
I have setup 2 pc's. One is acting as D.C (w2k3 server) and the other is a client (w2k3 server). The script is a demo file comes with KiXtart package. I have place a patch file at the Netlogon share. This patch calls demo.kix file. The patch file is :-

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
@echo off

wscript \0..\netlogon\kix32.exe \0..\netlogon\demo.kix
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I have received an error "There is no script engine for file extension ".exe" "


Appreciating you help


mima
(Hey THIS is FUN)
2006-12-06 02:30 PM
Re: There is no script engine for file extension ".exe"

Dont use wscript in the beginning of your line, only

\0..\netlogon\kix32.exe \0..\netlogon\demo.kix

The syntax for executing a kix program is
kix32.exe mycode.kix


Mart
(KiX Supporter)
2006-12-06 04:00 PM
Re: There is no script engine for file extension ".exe"

Quote:

....
wscript \0..\netlogon\kix32.exe \0..\netlogon\demo.kix
....


This way you tell wscript to execute kix32.exe as a script.
kix32.exe is the exe that executes kix scripts so wscript is not needed.


LonkeroAdministrator
(KiX Master Guru)
2006-12-06 04:39 PM
Re: There is no script engine for file extension ".exe"

not needed or not allowed.
wscript is another script interpreter.
so the commandline actually told wscript to interpret another interpreter as script.

could go on with this, but like said, loose the wscript and it will work.

then, you should consider loosing the batch file also and use kixtart directly.


NTDOCAdministrator
(KiX Master)
2006-12-06 08:08 PM
Re: There is no script engine for file extension ".exe"

Yes, as Jooel says. Remove the batch file - it is only needed for Windows 9x computers but Windows 9x computers can't participate on Active Directory anyways so no reason for the batch.

ItEagle
(Fresh Scripter)
2006-12-07 10:40 AM
Re: There is no script engine for file extension ".exe"

I have tesed that and it works perfectly.


Thank you all for your valuabe inputs. Thanks