FreakySpook
(Lurker)
2004-05-25 02:01 AM
Kix and network connections

Hi, I am new to kix, I would like to know if kix can determine a successful network connection, I have a notebook that works on both a domain & a home dial-up account, I want to be able to determine if the domain is present & load up the internet proxy settings at startup, or load up settings for the dial up account.
Is this possible?
Help would be much appreciated.


Les
(KiX Master)
2004-05-25 02:07 AM
Re: Kix and network connections

Well... I'm going to go out on a limb and say that KiX natively cannot but KiX can use WMI which can. Take a look at how WMI is used here.
Trigger Your Logon Script - WMI


FreakySpook
(Lurker)
2004-05-25 02:16 AM
Re: Kix and network connections

Thanks for that, it gave me an idea, if at logon it finds the domain, the network id would be the same, if there is no domain present, I get no IP address.
If I just get kix to check the network ID that should do it shouldn't it?


Les
(KiX Master)
2004-05-25 02:23 AM
Re: Kix and network connections

I must be missing something... If you logon to a domain through a LAN connection, would not the logon script run where you could do whatever you need to? That just leaves the dialup connection which is covered by the topic I pointed to.

As far as proxy goes, would they not be the same for both? ...unless you are doing VPN over a dialup {yuck} to an ISP.


FreakySpook
(Lurker)
2004-05-25 02:34 AM
Re: Kix and network connections

Its for a staff members lap top, when she is at work she plugs into the network & kix maps her network drives, sets all her internet settings and authenticates itself on the proxy server and intranet settings, when she is at home she doesn't want those settings to load so her family can use their dial up internet account. I suggested to her just have a local user account, but she didn't want that.

Les
(KiX Master)
2004-05-25 03:06 AM
Re: Kix and network connections

I still don't get it. The proxy settings for a dialup connection are separate from a LAN connection so once it is setup, it sticks. The only issue is if the home ISP connection is over the same LAN connector (DSL, not dialup). Instead of relying on IE proxy settings, install the proxy client that can easily be turned on and off at will.

FreakySpook
(Lurker)
2004-05-25 03:14 AM
Re: Kix and network connections

Oh yeah, I get you now, yeah your right. Thanks for that, I would have gone in circles.

Richard H.Administrator
(KiX Supporter)
2004-05-25 10:02 AM
Re: Kix and network connections

Alternatively, set IE for auto-detection of proxy settings and set up an internal WPAD site at the office to set the configuration.

This works pretty well, and when you need to update the proxy rules for any reason it can be a life saver.

Obviously, when she is at home there is no WPAD site, so the default configuration (no proxy) is used, which I think is appropriate from what you have said.


ShaneEP
(MM club member)
2004-05-25 04:01 PM
Re: Kix and network connections

This works to set a machine to Auto-Detect like Richard mentioned. It has to be run with administrative priviledges though since it is located in HKLM.

Code:
$null = WriteValue("HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Connections","DefaultConnectionSettings",
"3c00000008000000090000000000000000000000000000000100000000000000b04dd550b533c401010000000a006c300000000000000000",REG_BINARY)