Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#207340 - 2013-05-18 12:08 PM Windows7 Hotfix Deployment
hanso1976 Offline
Fresh Scripter

Loc: UK
Hi all, Just to note I am fairly new with Kix.

We have rolled out Windows7 32 and 64bit desktops and laptops (using WDS) and are looking at the best ways of keeping the clients updated with MS patches. We have been using kix along with su on our XP desktops for patching (su used for installing as administrator).

I am wondering what would be the best method of checking if a particular patch exists and if not then to run the MS patch file from a shared server location. I think with Win7 it will need running as administrator though.

Any advice or examples of scripts would be very helpful

Thanks, Hans

#207341 - 2013-05-18 12:46 PM Re: Windows7 Hotfix Deployment [Re: hanso1976]
Mart Moderator Offline
KiX Supporter

Loc: The Netherlands
Installing updates (or any kind of software) during the logon process is not really the best option. It will "pause" the logon process until the installation is done. We have been using WSUS to keep all clients up to date for years and it is working just fine. A GPO is applied to all affected OU's so the clients get the required settings.

WSUS only works for MS patches and some drivers but it does a great job. I would not recommend driver updates using WSUS instead just update your WDS image regularly.

- Chuck Norris once sold ebay to ebay on ebay.

#207342 - 2013-05-18 01:11 PM Re: Windows7 Hotfix Deployment [Re: Mart]
Arend_ Moderator Offline
MM club member

Loc: Hilversum, The Netherlands
As Mart pointed out, from an administrative standpoint, WSUS is your best option.
However if you want to check things manually, or scriptable check out MSBA

Oh and if you run a single WSUS server (meaning no upstream or downstream WSUS server, you can also check out Local Update Publisher