Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#190376 - 2008-10-29 08:38 PM Checking if a sub key exists under "windows messaging subsystem"
Reg_D Offline
Fresh Scripter

Hi Guys,

Im Brand new to scripting full stop, not just kix.......bare with me :-)

Im trying to check if any keys exist under HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows Messaging Subsystem\Profiles.

Its driving me round the bend because i cant work it out. its easy to check to see if a key exists if you know what key your searching for by using keyexist, but what if you dont know what the key is called??

EG:
if keyexist("HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows Messaging Subsystem\Profiles\*")
? "do this"
else
? "do this"
endif

if im being stupid please ask for my email address and send abuse at your leisure.

#190378 - 2008-10-29 08:45 PM Re: Checking if a sub key exists under "windows messaging subsystem" [Re: Reg_D]
Glenn Barnas Administrator Offline
KiX Supporter

Loc: New Jersey
EnumKey?

Check the manual for details and an example. You just use an index pointer and loop till you get an error indicating there's no more data.

(we can abuse you here, just like everyone else) \:\)

Welcome to KORG, btw. You'll get used to the abuse and teasing... return it freely as long as it's good natured!

Glenn

#190379 - 2008-10-29 08:49 PM Re: Checking if a sub key exists under "windows messaging subsystem" [Re: Glenn Barnas]
KiX Supporter

Actually, it's a bad example..
 Code:
$Index = 0
$KeyName = ENUMKEY('HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows Messaging Subsystem\Profiles\', $Index)
While Not @ERROR
    'Subkey found: ' $KeyName ?
    $Index = $Index + 1
Loop

Is better.. no GOTOs, single quotes, no vars in strings, etc..

Of course, you should substitute the "Subkey found" line with the code that you want to use on the subkeys in $KeyName.

Glenn

#190381 - 2008-10-29 09:01 PM Re: Checking if a sub key exists under "windows messaging subsystem" [Re: Glenn Barnas]